Skip navigation

For what it’s worth, I feel compelled to recommend this book, not only to Flash or Flex developers, but also to any C# or Java folks out there that would like a nice, concise reference on the more practical design patterns. It’s well written, practical, example-filled, did I say practical? It covers 12 patterns:

  1. MVC
  2. Singleton
  3. Factory / Template Method Patterns
  4. Proxy
  5. Iterator
  6. Composite
  7. Decorator*
  8. Command*
  9. Memento*
  10. State*

After working with AS3 / Flex for a while, I’ve had to digress a bit to AS2 for a project that I’m currently working on full-time. Even though the book is specifically for AS3 development, like I said before, it’s directly applicable to what I’m working on now. Specifically, a proper implementation of Undo / Redo¬† / State* functionality in a fairly complex set of UI interaction classes.
Link: “Advanced ActionScript 3 with Design Patterns” via Amazon.com

Link: “Joy Lott on Adobe Press”
Every now and then I’ll find a typo in the code or something, which is nice because it reminds me that these folks aren’t supermen, and still screw up occasionally. I’ve always admired Joey Lott actually, and have followed his career for some time. His web presence is a bit outdated as far as I can tell.

Anyway, I digress. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

